## NORTH HERTFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

# **EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE**

# Meeting held at the Council Offices, Letchworth, on Monday, 2 November 2009 at 3.00p.m.

PRESENT: Councillors F.J. Smith (Chairman), Judi Billing, Tom Brindley and S.K.

Jarvis.

IN ATTENDANCE: Acting Corporate Legal Manager

#### 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor F.J. Smith be elected as Chairman of the meeting.

#### 2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Hone.

# 3. NOTIFICATION OF OTHER BUSINESS

There had been no notification of any other business.

#### 4. CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENT

The Chairman reminded Members that, in line with the Code of Conduct, any Declarations of Interest needed to be declared immediately prior to the item in question.

## 5. EXCLUSION OF PRESS & PUBLIC

**RESOL VED:** that under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Public and Press be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the said Act.

## 6. TO CONFIRM APPOINTMENTS TO THE INDEPENDENT REMUNERATION PANEL

The Acting Corporate Legal Manager presented a report on appointments to the Independent Remuneration Panel.

The Committee considered the report and the officer responded to questions raised by Members. The Committee raised concerns that the Leaders of the Political Parties had not been consulted prior to the decision to proceed with the recruitment process for the Independent Remuneration Panel.

Following discussion, it was

## **RESOLVED:**

- (1) That Ms Elizabeth Reilly and Ms Elizabeth Webber be appointed to the Independent Remuneration Panel and Mr H.V Parkins, Mr A.D Read and Mr E.I Smith be invited to continue to serve on the Independent Remuneration Panel for a final year;
- (2) That the Democratic Services Manager be requested to arrange a meeting with the Leaders and the Chief Executive to discuss the future appointments to the Independent Remuneration Panel.

The meeting closed at 3.30 p.m.	
	Chairman